My favourite poems for children

images[8]

So a lot of this blog to date has been devoted to my reviews of great/hilarious/uplifting children’s fiction, but sometimes what you need is something a little shorter, something that can be digested whole in just a couple of minutes and leave an impression on you for the rest of the day. A survey on reading for children published by The Independent today drew attention to the fact that many parents shorten the stories that they read to their children. It could be lack of time, it could be that our attention spans are getting shorter…but I hope you can allow yourselves a snippet of time to read some of my favourite children’s poems. Do you have any that you feel should be added to the list?

A Silly Poem

Said Hamlet to Ophelia I’ll draw a sketch of thee,

What kind of pencil shall I use? 2B or not 2B?

Spike Milligan

 I had a little nut-tree

I had a little nut-tree,

Nothing would it bear

I searched in all its branches,

But not a nut was there.

 
‘Oh, little tree,’ I begged,

‘Give me just a few.’

The little tree looked down at me

And whispered, ‘Nuts to you.’

Roald Dahl

Now We Are Six

When I was one, I had just begun.

When I was two, I was nearly new.

When I was three, I was hardly me.

When I was four, I was not much more.

When I was five, I was just alive.

But now I am six, I’m as clever as clever

So I think I’ll be six now and forever.

A.A. Milne

Valentine

Chipmunks jump, and greensnakes slither.

Rather burst than not be with her.

Bluebirds fight, but bears are stronger.

We’ve got fifty years or longer.

Hoptoads hop, but hogs are fatter.

Nothing else but us can matter.

Donald Hall

 

Leave a Reply

